Saturday, July 11, 2009

Really people?

In an earlier post (this one) I ranted about some people whose public grooming habits on the subway were a source of nausea and unease. Yesterday, while perusing a store that I won't mention, I saw something that struck a similar chord.
This is the beach, and so invariably a fraction of the population will get sunburned. Sunburn sucks, it hurts, and the peeling is gross and uncomfortable. I wasn't at all surprised to see a family of tourists wander into this store, and the poor daughter suffering from a bad burn on her back. But as they looked at the various items in the display case, I was surprised to see that her mom was scratching her daughters back, littering the floor with little bits of her skin.
Please never do this again in a public place. It was so gross I had to leave.
Look, scratch your back (or your friends backs, hell, even invite some strangers in and scratch their backs) in your home, hotel room, condo, the back of your Ford Econoline van, anywhere but in front of other people. I mean, would it be o.k. for me to shave my chest in the middle of a store? Hell no. Why do you get to drop chunks of dead skin all over someone else's floor? Why, mother, do you think this is an alright precedent to set for your daughter?
Yes, its the beach. We're all a little more relaxed here; but, please turn on your brains.

Friday, July 10, 2009

No Rain

Well the title of this post is an obvious reference to the Blind Melon song of the same name, which should be promptly bit-torrented (or purchased on iTunes, you fucking boy scouts) if you don't already have it.
I left off complaining about the constant rain in the Bronx, but since then I have fled the city and holed up in Dewey Beach, Delaware. Its here where karma got me. There I was, listening to NPR podcasts on my iPod, when I dozed off. I woke up some time later and a good deal more red. No more complaining about the weather.
What I'd like to talk about today is a car I saw on the road, the BMW X6. Now I didn't see it at the New York Auto Show because I frankly couldn't be bothered to walk over to that section of the convention center. Bavarian Motor Works touts the X6 as the "first ever Sports Activity Coupe". their website: see I wasn't lying. I dont mean to argue over minutae, but it seems to me that a coupe has, well, two doors. There are borderline variations, like the Mazda RX-8 with its clever backwards opening half door, but the X6 doesn't reside on this border. It has four doors. This would make it a Sports Activity Sedan, no?
So the marketing boys made a mistake, but they'd tell you they were being creative: martinis all around! Frankly I don't care about the manufacturers wording (they pulled the same sort of thing advertising the X5 as a "sports activity vehicle" in order to get away from the stigma associated with the SUV). What makes this car noteworthy is that it is collosally ugly.















Here's a picture BMW provided, meaning somewhere a photographer spent an hour with this car and this is the best shot they came up with.
It looks like one of those cartoon-ish photoshops of a normal car. The cargo space is cut down considerably by the silly rake of the roof, and what is an SUV size car doing anyway, in trying to pass itself off as a coupe?
Even more, where does this fit in the model line?
The X3 is barely a BMW, more econocar than euro. The X5 is your truck size BMW, competing with the Volvo XC90, Range Rover, yadda yadda. So whats the deal with the X6?
Dare I even mention that the MSRP is around $56,000 USD? For the smaller engine. And yeah, its a BMW, so be prepared to pay for options like "floor mats." Moderately equipped I ran the MSRP up to 67 grand.
If you want one: buy it in black, tint the windows and drive it only at night. That way no one will see you and label you as that moron who bought the ugliest car BMW makes.