So in the time since my last post, I've finished college. I've moved out of the Bronx, and I've found a job. Not being in the Bronx is well, quite nice. I can walk around my neighborhood without the slightest fear of being stabbed. However, I have the new fear of being hit by a car, as there are no sidewalks and no streetlights.
Ah, suburbia, the natural habitat of the automobile. Out here the cars aren't battered up against each other in tiny parking spaces, but most of them even get their own room. So through these windy virginia roads, one should expect nothing but the finest driving experience yes? Anyone who knows northern virginia knows the answer.
The roads here are jammed, mostly with morons. The sort of people who ride in the faster lane until they "suddenly realize" they have to make the exit, and bring both lanes of traffic to a halt trying to force their way into the crowded turn lane. Then, there's the people who believe the four rings or three pointed star on the front of their car allows them to cut off anyone they choose, and even cross grassy medians to make illegal U-turns to save them the precious minutes of waiting in traffic. There's the people who, when you are forced to stop on a steep hill, drive their cars up to millimeters away from your rear bumper, forcing you to use the handbrake to start.
Driving a thirty four mile commute where fifth gear is used twice is infuriating, and paying for high octane gas wasted in stop and go traffic is irrational. So, I did some math. Turns out that the difference in gas milage combined with the price difference from premium to regular, the savings covers the added insurance of a beater.
The cost of a beater though, isn't covered by fuel savings. Whether or not it makes fiscal sense comes down to the value of saving my WRX, or having two pedals instead of three during rush hour traffic.
Thus, I think I've found a new project: finding a super cheap, reliable car.
The fun part, for anyone else, is that I get to consider some different cars.
Stay tuned for the rants and raves. First up: some hondas.
Wednesday, January 20, 2010
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)