I am not allowed to have a motorcycle.
.: I have developed an unnatural yearning for a sport bike.
In reality, it is entirely impractical. For one, there's the exorbitant insurance rate. There's the fact I couldn't use it in the wet, or the cold. There's the fact I'd be forced to go every where dressed like a power ranger. (The last one is a double edged sword: carrying your helmet everywhere = attention magnet.)
When it comes to motorcycles, there's Harleys, there's Triumphs, there's Indians. There's old hondas and suzukis. There's ugly sportbikes from the early 90s.
Then there's this. The CBR 600 RR RepSol.
And I want it.Why?
Well, House had one. And Hugh Laurie is a badass actor. His show, while sometimes tiresome, is essentially a badass playing a badass. For those keeping score at home, that's badass squared.
Are there better bikes? Yes. The Augusta F4 and the Ducati 749, for example.
But the CBR just kicks you in the teeth with it. And if you're a biker, you're probably used to getting kicked in the teeth. For us soft people in vehicles with airbags and seat belts, its a bit of a shock.
Unfortunately, I doubt I'll ever have one. Its too likely some jackass in an SUV would run me over while trying to pair their cell phone to their vehicles blue tooth system. And, yes, I am an organ donor; but I would rather like to keep them for a bit longer.
No comments:
Post a Comment