Thursday, September 9, 2010

Green: It's the new Green.




So, some cars look good in bold greens.
Lets skip the big Lambo in Ithaca Verde, and go right to this:
The Porsche 911 GT3, if I'm correct this one is last years model.It looks good, doesn't it? Well for over $180k, it damn well better. Keep in mind most enthusiasts would choose white. (Why? White paint weighs less.)

I'll spare you more supercar pornography. What I've noticed is that increasingly average cars are being sprayed in bold greens from the factory. Just to be clear, we are not talking a deep British Racing Green that you would want on your MG-B, or the everyday green that might delicately juxtapose the beige interior in your 1996 Toyota Camry.
I'm talking about colors like this, on the new(ish) Ford Fiesta:
Or how about this, on the new Mazda 2:
(Thanks Mazda! Great high res!)

The point is, you no longer have to spend $250,000 on a V12 Lamborghini to get a car that carries green off well. In the market for economy cars, its been too long that your only choices are beige, black, and silver. The adventurous color choice is usually a red. Lets face it, unless your car has a "Pininfarina" badge on it, it doesn't do red so well. (Porsche offers their version, called "Guards Red", but it is more commonly referred to as a "pull me over" red.)
Green is a great option, it gets you out of boring beige and lets you have a little fun, without flagging down the cops every time you get going 5 over.
So lets embrace it. Its high time for more colorful roadways.

Monday, September 6, 2010

Who's losing now?

Ok so some of you might have heard or rather, read about, a thing called "You Laugh, You Lose".

On any given internet forum a thread will start where the objective is to make the reader laugh out loud, therefore "losing". It's a difficult concept, I know, so I'll go into greater detail.
Usually each post is a picture, often resorting to posting a joke centering around an internet meme.

But, there's always one isn't there? Someone has to be "that guy".
And this post is about those guys, the people who post links to a youtube video.

A funny picture takes about .4 seconds to absorb the set up and the punchline, while the average youtube video goes on for 1:30 before something funny happens.

Hey asshole, guess what? If the joke was someone gets kicked in the balls, then post a picture of the kid getting kicked in the balls. I'm not trying to wait a minute and a half to halfheartedly think about laughing. Often, your video isn't even worth a snicker.

Its wicked inconsiderate. Come on, internet forum poster, we're all busy people.